It’s the New Year, Have You Changed in the last 365?

Sooo, I guess I should start with Happy New Year! During this time many people have goals and dreams that they write down. They think they are going to achieve said goal by the end of the year. If by some stroke of genius it doens’t happen, it gets added to the list for next year. Sounds familair???

Well 2015 wasn’t great, it wasn’t bad. Let’s just call it growing season.  I launched a new business  or three. Two of the three I’d temporarily label as failures. One is going well, but I’m not actively working it like I should. I quit my job on April 3, 2015.  Very liberating to walk away from a position that I once saw as my new beginning. Then by some sheer chance or because of a friendship, I started tutoring at a local Charter School in October. I definitely would have never thought that this would happen again. I haven’t actively tutored since I left the Great Bethune-Cookman College (University). The kids challenge me on all levels. They also quench my maternal needs. Who knew how much I really would like to be a mom? I’ve watched babies throughout the course of the year which gave me a little money but also a lot of patience. Little boys between the age of 1 and 2 can be rough. I digress, the kids have challenged me and continue to ask me Ms. ??? why do you keep coming back? Right now my only answer is because I want to see them succeed. Now in the final month of the year, another curve ball came my way when I joined another company. The position well let’s just say I’m definitely overqualified for it. At one time, I would have scoffed at the notion of doing this task. The crazy thing is that my mom has been performing this job in some capacity my entire life. In the last 3-4 weeks, I’ve gained an increased appreciation of the sacrifices she’s made for me and my family. I guess I should tell her that huh.

In the last 365 days, I started focusing on me more. Next up were the changes in my physical and mental. Physically, I’m healthier, stronger and can even walk up to 9.67 miles. Definitely, not an easy task. Can’t wait to say I’ve completed by first half marathon in 2016. I’ve lost 35 pounds and still have more to go. I can run when in the past it was hard for me to even get out of bed at times. Yeap, 2015 physically was a “No Pain, No Gain” Year. I had accountability partners, coaches, friends near and far, and even social media to push me to continue to pursue these goals. Mentally and Emotionally, I had many challenges. The beautiful thing is I can admit that I’m a work in progress. Still working on the love thing but I can at least say without a doubt that I love me some Me!!!

So what’s the plan for 2016, to continue growing. Growing physically stronger, mentally tougher, emotionally secure, financially solvent and maybe even pick up a homie/lover/friend along the way that would consider marrying me. The plan has been written.The vision board created. I’m praying and not giving up hope.

Growing to Love is about Living and not being afraid to talk about it. I’ve had many ups and many downs. I’ve laughed, cried, prayed,  acted tough, then repeated the cycle. It’s my life, Only I can live it.

 


Leave a comment